Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
(Fortress of Louisbourg
Report Number H D 17 R)
The history of Lot F is very closely linked with that of Lot G, the property of the commissaire-ordonnateur. The two properties were situated on the east boundary of Block 2, the Rue St. Louis, with Lot G facing the Quay and Lot F facing the Rue Royalle. (See Plan 1734-5).
Philibert Genier sold Lot G to Jacques Ange LeNormant demesy, the commissaire-ordonnateur, in May of 1720 [NOTE 1]. In the same month, on 23 May 1720, Genier received concession of Lot F from demesy and the governor. The property ran 60 pieds along the Rue Royalle and 60 pieds along the Rue St. Louis. This concession in 1720 was not registered by the superior council until 10 March 1723 [NOTE 2].
Genier did not retain ownership of Lot F. The 1723 etat and accompanying plan (1723-2) which describe him as the owner of the property (labelled Lot I) are the last references which connect him with Lot F [NOTE 3]. In 1724 St. Ovide reserved the property for the construction of a storehouse [NOTE 4]. [A marginal note in Valleé's 1734 etat stated that St. Ovide had reserved Lot F in 1727. It is more likely that the 1724 date given by St. Ovide is correct, as the etat has proven inaccurate in many specifics for Block 2]. No official concession of Lot F was recognized; the property was described as unconceded in the sale of Lot G in 1733, in Vallée's etat of 1734 and in the confirmation of the etat in 1735 [NOTE 5]. The plan and elevation of deMesy's buildings in Lot G, made between 1725 and 1733, described the property to the rear of Lots G and H simply as an "Emplacement qui nest pas occupé." (See Plans N.D. 7 and N.D. 7a).
Lot F apparently remained undeveloped until at least 1730. A vacant property, with neither buildings nor a garden, is shown on the town plans between 1717 and 1730. (See Plans 1717-2 to 1724-2, 1730-2 and N.D. 6, N.D.7a, N.D. 24). [PAGE 106].
Some time after he reserved Lot F, St. Ovide transported sand and stones to the site of his proposed storehouse. Construction was postponed, however, because the masons were busy on king's works. Finally, in 1734, St. Ovide had une charpente brought from Isle St. Jean "pour la place sur ce terrain" [NOTE 6 ]. This seems to have been a frame for a charpente building, although it may have meant lumber.
Before the charpente was raised, LeNormant, the son and successor of deMesy, and Etienne Verrier, the king's engineer, went to St. Ovide's residence and asked him to relinquish his claim to Lot F. They argued that it was necessary to incorporate Lot F into the commissaire-ordonnateur's Lot G property - "pour y faire une cour et d'autres amenagemens qui étoient necessaires a la maison de l'ordonnateur." Verrier stated that the Lot G establishment would be uninhabitable without the addition of Lot F - "ce logement devins inhabitable Si ce terrain qui enfermoit toute ces comoditees n'y etoit reuny." St. Ovide surrendered his claim "avec plaizir" on the condition that he be given personal concession of Lot E in Block 16 which was part of the official governor's garden [NOTE 7].
LeNormant may have been using Lot F prior to 1734. Verrier's use of the term "commodities" seems to refer to the proposed improvements, although it is possible that it refers to latrines which were already standing. A building stood on the west half of the property, fronting the Rue Royalle and running lengthwise into the block, in 1731 and 1734. (See Plans 1731-3-(l) and 1734-4). There is no documentation on the construction and demolition of the structure. Plan 1731-3-(l) shows a solid picket fence on the boundaries between Lot F and Lots E, G and H.
Whether or not he had a building in Lot F prior to 1734, the commissaire-ordonnateur had taken advantage of the unoccupied Lot F property. Lot F's east boundary had gradually decreased in size. The property measured 60 pieds along the Rue St. Louis in 1720, 54 pieds in 1724 and 48 pieds in 1734. Perhaps as compensation, the south boundary on the Rue Royalle had increased; it measured 60 pieds in 1720, 70 pieds in 1724 and 69 pieds in 1734 [NOTE 8].
Confirmation from Maurepas, the minister of the Marine, was required to legalize the arrangement between LeNormant and St. Ovide. In November [PAGE 107:] of 1736 a letter by St. Ovide and a joint letter by St. Ovide and LeNormant reviewed the situation. By that time St. Ovide had erected his charpente on Lot E of Block 16 and LeNormant had enclosed and was using Lot F of Block 2. Unfortunately it is not known how he was using the property [NOTE 9].
Maurepas apparently sent a favourable reply. In October of 1737, St. Ovide and LeNormant thanked him for approving the incorporation of Lot F into the commissaire-ordonnateur's property. They reminded him, however, that St. Ovide required a concession for the Block 16 property [NOTE 10]. The concession followed on 8 May 1738, the same year that St. Ovide returned to France [NOTE 11].
LeNormant left Louisbourg in 1739. When his successor, François Bigot, arrived, he considered several renovations and improvements necessary in his Block 2 establishment. One of these was the construction of an hangard in Lot F to house poultry, sheep and "autres choses necessaires pour la nourriture" [NOTE 12]. The new building appears on Plan 1739-5.
The history of Lot F from its annexation to the commissaire-ordonnateur's establishment is included in the report Block 2, Lot G, Property of the Commissaire-Ordonnateur [NOTE 13].
I. [PAGE 212:]
LOT F: [NOTE 1:] A.C., C11C, vol. 15 suite, No. 211, np. 1, Conseil [untitled] Lettres des Mrs. deMesy, Rodrigue et de St. Ovide, 24 mars 1722 (7 décembre 1721).
[NOTE 2:] A.F.O., Gl, Vol. 466, pièce 83, f. 10, Concessions, 1720-23.
[NOTE 3:] A.C., C11A, Vol. 126, pièce 111, p. 237, Estat des Emplacements concédés a Louisbourg dans l'Enceinte de la Place relatif au plan de 1723, 1723.
[NOTE 4:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 18, f. 65, [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide à Maurepas, 14 novembre 1736.
[NOTE 5:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2038 suite (No. 55), Vente de maison: LeNormant deMesy au Roi, 1 septembre 1733; A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville de louisbourg sous le bon plaisir du roy par messieurs les gouverneur Et commissaire ordonnateur delisle Royalle jusqu'au 15.8bre.1734 et autres dont Sa Majesté a disposé par Son memoire du 31. may. 1723, 24 octobre 1734; A.C. B, Vol. 63, f. 567v., Arret du C.cil qui confirme les concessions faites dans la Ville de Louisbourg jusqu'au 15.8bre.1734, 5 avril 1735.
[NOTE 6:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 18, ff. 28-29, [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide et LeNormant à Maurepas, 8 novembre 1736; ibid, f. 65-66v., [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide à Maurepas, 14 novembre 1736; ibid, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville de louisbourg ..., 24 octobre 1734.
[NOTE 7:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 18, ff. 28-29, [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide et LeNormant à Maurepas, 8 novembre 1736; ibid, ff. 65-66v., [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide à Maurepas, 14 novembre 1736.
[NOTE 8:] A.F.O., Gl, Vol. 466, pièce 83, f. 10, Concessions, 1720-1723; A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville de louisbourg ..., 24 octobre 1734; ibid, Vol. 18, f. 65, [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide à Maurepas, 14 novembre 1736.
[NOTE 9:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 18, ff. 28-29, [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide et LeNormant à Maurepas, 8 novembre 1736; ibid, ff. 65-66v., [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide à Maurepas, 14 novembre 1736.
[NOTE 10:] A.C., Cl11B, Vol. 19, f. 17v., [untitled] Lettre de St. Ovide et LeNormant à Maurepas, 23 octobre 1737.
[NOTE 11:] A.C., C11G , Vol. 12, ff. 187-87v., Brevet de Concession en faveur du S. de Brouillan d'un Terrain dans la Ville de Louisbourg, 6 mai 1738.
[NOTE 12:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 21, ff. 268-68v., [untitled] Lettre de Verrier à Maurepas, 19 décembre 1739.
[NOTE 13:] Brenda Dunn, Block 2. Lot G, Property of the Commissaire Ordonnateur, (unpublished), Fortress of Louisbourg, September 1969.