Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
(Fortress of Louisbourg
Report Number H D 17 R)
(A) PROPERTY AND FIRST HOUSE (c.1719-c.1728):
What was to become Lot E is first seen on Plan 1720-2; a building is located in the interior of the block and a garden faces the Rue Royalle. The establishment probably was occupied by Dominique Detcheverry, a master blacksmith who later was conceded the property. Sabatier's concession of Lot D in 1721 gave its east boundary as "L'emplacement de dominique" [NOTE 1]. It is likely that Detcheverry was operating a forge in Lot E as early as 1719 and 1720, for in these years he made livres worth of iron work for "Monsieur Chevalier perré" [NOTE 2].
Detcheverry moved towards making a more permanent establishment in Lot E in 1722. The 1734 etat and following 1735 confirmations state that the property was conceded to him in May of 1722 [NOTE 3]. In October, Detcheverry entered an agreement with Joseph Dugas, a carpenter, to build a duplex fronting the Rue Royalle [NOTE 4].
Although the 1723 etat described Detcheverry as the owner of Lot E, his claim to the property was threatened by a royal ordinance issued from Versailles in May of that year. The ordinance of 1723 included Detcheverry in the list of two blacksmiths and one tavern keeper who were occupying Quay front properties in Block 2 to the alleged detriment of fishermen. The properties between Lots H and M, extending 24 toises into the block and thus including Lot E, were to be expropriated and given to Jean Rodrigue and Joseph Lartigue, As compensation, the dispossessed owners were to receive the estimated value of their buildings, and properties twice the size of their former Block 2 lots elsewhere in the town. The ordinance did not affect Dominique Detcheverry for the Louisbourg superior council did not register it until October of 1725 and ignored it until 1735, by which time Detcheverry no longer owned Lot E [NOTE 5].
Between the time that the ordinance was issued and registered, Detcheverry requested and received a concession of Lot E. This concession of 8 June 1724 did not mention a previous concession. The property conceded in 1724 was bounded on the west by Sabatier (Lot D) and on the north by Rodrigue (Lot H), and ran 46 pieds along the Rue Royalle and 60 pieds into the block. Confirmation was to follow in 1726 if Detcheverry complied with the terms of the concession. He was expected to mark the boundaries with posts which were 3 pieds in the ground and 4 pieds above ground, build houses and storehouses, and submit to the royal prerogative of removing timber from the property for the repair of king's ships and the construction of king's works [NOTE 6]. These latter two terms were merely formalities for, by 1724, two buildings were standing on Lot E and there would have been little room for more buildings or a vast supply of timber. (See 1724-2).
In May of 1726 Detcheverry made a rental agreement with Jacques Verdon, a journeyman locksmith, who was working with him. Verdon was to pay 750 livres for the rent of the north end of Lot E for two years, from the end of September 1726 to the beginning of October, 1728. Included in the agreement were part of Detcheverry's garden, his house and his forge, complete with tools. In 1726 the forge contained two bellows, an anvil, two large hammers, two hand hammers, two small malls, two malls (estog), eight tongs, a rising anvil, a pair of large andirons, a pot hanger, a fire shovel, an alloy pot, two [doz?] red copper, a pewter pint measure, a half-pint measure, a quart measure, one large tin funnel, one small tin funnel, one large table, two medium tables, two benches, and four chairs [NOTE 7].
The building in the interior of Lot E, referred to in the Detcheverry-Verdon rental agreement as the vieille maison, does not seem to have survived long after 1726. No documentary reference to the structure has been found after 1726, and the last town plan to show it is 1724-2. It is probable that the building was destroyed in 1728, when Verdon's lease expired and Joseph Dugas became the sole owner of Lot E [NOTE 8].
(B) FIRST HOUSE - STRUCTURAL DETAILS:
Detcheverry's first house served as both his residence and place of work. In 1726 the building consisted of "une boutique forgé, cuisine cabinets & autres appartenances et dependences" [NOTE 9]. It is possible that the forge was located in the extension shown on the north wall of the building on Plans 1722-1, 1723-2, 1723-3, 1723-4 and 1724-2.
The building was a rectangular structure located in the interior of Block 2. Since it was a very early building and lasted a relatively short time, it probably was of picket construction. As scaled from the plans, the southwest corner of the building was 60 pieds north of the Rue Royalle. Plan 1720-2 shows a hip roof on the building, a detail common to the majority of structures on the plan. The scaled size of Detcheverry's first building varies slightly as reflected below.
(1) Plan 1720-2: Length (approx. East-west): 36 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 18 pieds;
(2) Plan 1722-1: Length (approx. East-west): 30 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 15 pieds;
(3) Plan 1723-2: Length (approx. East-west): 36 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 15 pieds;
(4) Plan 1723-3: Length (approx. East-west): 30 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 12 pieds;
(5) Plan 1724-2: Length (approx. East-west): 30 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 12 pieds.
(1) Plan 1720-2: Length (approx. East-west): n/a Width (aprox. North-south): n/a
(2) Plan 1722-1: Length (approx. East-west): 15 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 6 pieds;
(3) Plan 1723-2: Length (approx. East-west): 15 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 7 pieds;
(4) Plan 1723-3: Length (approx. East-west): 12 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 9 pieds;
(5) Plan 1724-2: Length (approx. East-west): 12 pieds; Width (aprox. North-south): 9 pieds.
(C) PROPERTY AND SECOND HOUSE (1722-68):
A formal agreement between Dominique Detcheverry and Joseph Dugas in October of 1722 provided for the construction of a double house on the south boundary of Lot E, facing the Rue Royalle. Dugas, a carpenter, was to build the house and Detcheverry was to cede him half of the building, the ground it stood on, and a small space in the yard for storing his firewood. If Detcheverry decided to sell his share of the lot, Dugas was to be given first option to buy [NOTE 10].
The house was built by 1723 [NOTE 11]. A faint outline of the building appears on Plan 1722-1. The building is clearly marked on Plan 1723-2 and is shown consistently on 1724-2 and subsequent town plans. It is probable that Dugas and Detcheverry took immediate occupancy of the building.
In October of 1726, Detcheverry went to France and rented his half of the Lot E house to Thimoté Latapy, a master tailor, for two years at an annual rent of 250 livres. The east half belonged to Detcheverry and consisted of a ground floor, an attic and a passage which led to the house in the interior of the yard. Detcheverry made it very clear that Dugas did not have the right to use the passage, and gave permission to Latapy to close it if he wished. Right of passage was maintained for Detcheverry and anyone who occupied or had business in the house at the rear of the property, but only if a structure were built in Lot F. It was further agreed that when Detcheverry returned he could occupy a room in the attic, rent free, with the provision that it be used for lodging and not for commercial purposes [NOTE 12].
The Detcheverry-Dugas agreement of 1722 was ratified on 6 November 1726, before Detcheverry's departure. The area of Dugas' yard was enlarged at a cost of 120 livres. Emphasis was placed on the fact that if either of the two parties decided to sell, the other would have first option to buy [NOTE 13].
Joseph Dugas became the sole owner of Lot E in 1728. A bill of sale dated 12 November 1728 was found among Dugas' papers in 1733. It is likely that Dugas, who was occupying the west half of the house in 1726, expanded into the east half soon after making the acquisition, for Latapy's lease expired on 1 November 1728 [NOTE 14].
Joseph Dugas was one of the many Block 2 inhabitants who died during the smallpox epidemic and famine in 1733. He died either on the 4 or 5 of September 1733; the parish records give 5 September 1733 as the death date while the inventory states that he died on 4 September. He was survived by his wife, Marguerite Richard, and five children: Charles (aged 22), Joseph (aged 19), Abraham (aged nine), Angelique (aged ten), and Jeanne (aged two) [NOTE 15]. Four other children, Marguerite, Marie Magdelaine, Anne and Etienne, had died between October of 1731 and June of 1733. Marguerite Richard was elected guardian of the surviving children with François Cressonet dit Beausejour, former owner of Lot K and husband of a relative, Marguerite Dugas, as subrogé tuteur [NOTE 16]. Dominique Detcheverry had predeceased Dugas; he died on 13 August 1731 at the age of about years [NOTE 17].
At his death in 1733 Dugas was occupying Lot E which was assessed at a value of 3,000 livres. Three other properties were owned by Dugas at that time - a property on the Rue Dauphine with a small dilapidated cabane which served as a forge, estimated at 600 livres, as well as a property with a cabane at Mira and a property at Port Toulouse which were not assessed. Another asset was a ship of about 40 tons, assessed at 1,500 livres, and possibly the English vessel mentioned in Dugas' papers [NOTE 18].
The inventory of Dugas effects was taken between 19 September and 22 September. The life style reflected in the inventory seems to have been far below that of the Benoist family in Lot C. Dugas' moveable goods (meubles) did not include any silver and were worth much less than the effects in the Benoist house in 1733. The furniture in the Lot E house was usually described as worn [NOTE 19].
In 1733 the Dugas house consisted of two-chambres and three cabinets on the ground floor and a chambre in the attic. To the right on entering from the Rue Royalle was a chambre which seems to have been a combined living room-kitchen and a cabinet which probably was the children's bedroom. To the left was a cabinet which seems to have been the pantry, and a chambre which apparently was the parent's bedroom. The third cabinet was Dugas' office which may have been in an addition. The upstairs room does not seem to have been occupied in 1733 [NOTE 20].
In 1733 the chambre to the right contained a small pine buffet without a lock (estimated at 6 livres), a small pine armoire without a lock, in poor condition (8 livres), seven pine straw-bottomed chairs which were almost worn out (7 livres), a small pine table (2 livres), fireplace utensils which included a pot hanger, andirons, a shovel and tongs (12 livres), and an old chest without a lock (1 livre 10 sols) which contained children's belongings. Forty-eight pounds of pewter plates and platters (36 livres) were probably kept in the small, worn, pine buffet without a lock (6 livres). Four copper candlesticks (6 livres) were also inventoried in this room [NOTE 21].
Several cooking dishes were found in the cabinet to the left on entering. Two brass cauldrons, an old frying pan, a small brass saucepan, [PAGE 98:] a skimmer and a tin drip pan were assessed at 15 livres. The room's only furniture was a pine folding table which was estimated at 2 livres [NOTE 22].
Inventoried in the cabinet to the right were five small woolen blankets, one-third used (estimated at 40 livres), four small feather mattresses which were one-third used, three bolsters (150 livres), and a tin cistern with its basin (2 livres). No beds were mentioned [NOTE 23].
The chambre on the left was furnished with a birch armoire, (valued at 60 livres) which contained things belonging to Dugas' wife and children, a chest (estimated at 6 livres) which contained several pieces of worn, old clothing, and a bed (couchette) with bed curtains and a curtain rod all of which were worn (estimated at 45 livres). Eight sheets, eight tablecloths and two dozen napkins, all very worn (estimated at 44 livres) were at the laundry. Also inventoried in the room were an old pot (12 livres) and andirons, a pot hanger, a spit, a tripot, a knife (couperet), a cooking pot, and a rechaud which were estimated together at 25 livres. Although the above fireplace utensils and pots are usually associated with a kitchen, the furnishings of the two chambres suggest that the other ground floor chambre served this function [NOTE 24].
The third cabinet contained Dugas' desk, estimated at 20 livres, which held papers dating back to when he was in Acadia [NOTE 25].
The only furnishings inventoried in the upstairs room were a small broken table (estimated at 1 livre) and two small andirons (estimated at 2 livres). "Un quart environ quatre grossos de pipe," possibly pipes or a wine vessel, was estimated at 10 livres while a bushel of maize in the attic section was estimated at 34 livres [NOTE 26].
Marguerite Richard continued to reside in Lot E with her children after her husband's death. In December of 1733 the property was described as belonging to Dugas' heirs. In 1734 and 1735 the widow and children were occupying the property [NOTE 27].
The size of the property increased between the 1724 concession and the 1734 etat. In 1734 the south boundary along the Rue Royalle was 51 pieds, the east boundary to Lot H was 48 pieds, and the west boundary to Lots I and K was 98 pieds. (See Plan 1734-5) [NOTE 28].
Lot E became a minor issue in the dispute which arose in 1735 over the neglected ordinance of 1723. The Dugas family's ownership was not seriously threatened; Lot E was the only one of the three properties slated for expropriation in the ordinance whose concession was confirmed in 1735. The other properties were ordered to be surrendered to Rodrigue's widow and Lartigue in accordance with the terms of the 1723 ordinance [NOTE 29]. The widow Rodrigue and Lartigue were acutely aware of the omission of Lot E; in letters to Maurepas in January and February of 1737, respectively, they accused LeNormant of arbitrarily disposing of Lot E and reducing the 24 toises depth into the block given in the original ordinance. The widow Rodrigue informed Maurepas that:
... il la fait dans L'unique veue dotter la Connoissance a Votre Grandeur de la plus grande partie de la profondeur dudit Terrein de la qu'elle il a disposé de son chef Contre la justice et les ordres du Roy en faveur de Quelques personnes qu'il a vouleu proteger a mon prejudice et a celuy dudit Sieur Lartigue ...
She stated further that LeNormant had requested her signature and that of Lartigue on a
document relinquishing their claim to the Lot E area [NOTE 30]. Everyone else ignored the
omission of Lot E, and when it was decided that the widow Rodrigue and Lartigue would
receive expropriated properties elsewhere in the town, no compensation was provided for
their loss of the widow Dugas' property [NOTE 31].
Almost nothing is known about Lot E after 1735. On 16 January 1736, Marguerite Richard married Charles St. Etienne de la Tour and in December of 1737 they had twin girls, Anne and Jeanne Charlotte [NOTE 32]. Unfortunately, the de la Tour connection with Block 2 was found in the final stages of research for this report and more work on de la Tour is necessary. He was the son of Jacques St. Etienne de la Tour and Jeanne Melanson and must not be confused with the officer of the marine, Charles St. Etienne de la Tour, who was his uncle.
During the New England occupation the governor occupied the east side of Block 2 which included Lot E and the former commissaire-ordonnateur's establishment of Lots F, G and H. (See Plans 1746-1, 1746-4, 1746-5 and [PAGE 100:] 1746-6). Either before or during this period, a new house was built in Lot D against the west wall of the Lot E house. On the east, the gap between the Lot E house and Lot F stables was closed so that these buildings also abutted. It is not known when these changes occurred, for Lot E was not shown on town plans between 1739 and 1745.
It is possible that Marguerite Richard and Charles St. Etienne de la Tour died in France during the New England occupation. Joseph Dugas, son of Joseph Dugas and Marguerite Richard, was elected tuteur of Anne and Jeanne Charlotte, by then 11 years old, in October of 1749, with François Lessenne, master cannoneer, as subrogé tuteur. The deaths are not recorded in the Louisbourg parish records, and the document dealing with the election of guardians is grouped with two or three other elections for children whose parents died in Rochefort [NOTE 33].
Almost nothing is known about Lot E during the second French occupation period. The property was described as "celuy des heritiers de feu Joseph Dugas" in July of 1749 [NOTE 34]. At the time of the election of tuteurs, Joseph Dugas fils was living at the home of François Poinçu on the Rue de l'Etang [NOTE 35]. In October of 1749, François Lessenne, acting for the de la Tour children, rented a house, courtyard, and dependencies to the widow Fautoux for one year at a rent of 400 livres [NOTE 36]. It is possible that following the building activity noted around Lot E on post-1745 plans, the Lot E building was converted into an extension of the commissaire-ordonnateur's stables in Lot F. Franklin's report in 1768 stated that the French had used the combined Lot E and F building as stables for the commissaire-ordonnateur's house [NOTE 37].
Plans 1767-1 and 1768-1 treat the Lot E and F building as one. In 1767 the combined building was serving as a stable or storehouse. By 1768 it was described as No. 119, a wooden building, in "tolerable" repair or "much out of repair" [NOTE 38].
(D) SECOND HOUSE - STRUCTURAL DETAILS:
The second Lot E house was a charpente building which measured 45 pieds along the Rue Royalle and 24 pieds into the block. It seems that pickets [PAGE 101:] were used as a fill between the uprights; the 1722 agreement stated that the house would be "antouree de planches" while the 1726 ratification changed the wording of the agreement to read "entouree de Piquets." Since the house had been built in accordance with the terms reiterated in the 1726 ratification, it is likely that pickets rather than boards were used [NOTE 39].
When originally constructed the Lot E house was a duplex, divided equally between Detcheverry on the east and Dugas on the west. In 1726 the ground floor level of Detcheverry's half consisted of a kitchen with a fireplace, three cabinets made by board partitions, and a passage or corridor (courroir) which led from the street to the yard, providing access to the earlier house. An attic with at least one room extended over the ground floor rooms and passage [NOTE 40].
The building had been converted to a one-family dwelling by the time of the 1733 inventory. On the ground floor, a chambre (probable living room-kitchen), which overlooked the street was in the southeast corner of the house, a cabinet (probable children's bedroom) was in the northeast corner, a cabinet (probable pantry) in the southwest corner, and a chambre (probable parent's bedroom) in the northwest corner [NOTE 41].
The cabinet which probably was Dugas' office seems to have been situated in an addition, for the inventory described the room as "a Coste en bas" [NOTE 42]. Additions appear on only two plans, 1730-2 and N.D. 24, which show two small additions with pitch roofs on the east and west sections of the north wall.
It seems that the passage had been blocked by 1733, for it is not mentioned in the inventory. When the passage was constructed, the house filled the 45 pieds boundary on the Rue Royalle. By 1734 the passage would no longer have been necessary because the Rue Royalle boundary had been increased to 51 pieds, providing an access 6 pieds wide into the yard [NOTE 43].
The east half of the attic seems to have been partitioned into at least one room in 1726. A condition of the Detcheverry-Latapy agreement permitted Detcheverry to use as a bedroom "une des chambres qui Sont dans le grenier." In 1733 the attic consisted of one chambre and attic space. Because both documents refer to the upper storey as an attic (grenier) with a room(s), it is assumed that the house had one and a-half storeys rather than either two full storeys or one storey plus an attic [NOTE 44].
The 1722 agreement called for the construction of a double fireplace. Instead, two single fireplaces were installed; in 1733 there was one on both end walls. Two sets of fireplace utensils in the inventory suggest a fireplace in the northwest and southeast chambres. Assuming that the chambres were larger than the cabinets, the fireplaces could have been centered on the end walls. A third set of andirons, estimated at 2 livres, in the upstairs chambre may indicate another fireplace [NOTE 45].
The Lot E house had a pitch roof covered with planks [NOTE 46:] (See all plans except N.D. 24). Dormer windows would probably have been necessary to provide light for the room or rooms in the attic. Plan 1739-5, which shows 30 pieds of the roof, situates one dormer on each slope at a distance of 14 pieds from the east edge of the roof. A second dormer an each slope, if located 14 pieds from the west edge of the 45 pieds roof would have been just outside the portion of roof seen on the plan.
The post-1745 plans reflect a fundamental structural change in the Lot E building. Four possibilities are suggested. Plans 1746-1, 1746-5, and 1746-8 show the Lot E building abutting against the Lot D house, which has the same dimension (N. by S.) into the block, and against a narrower Lot F stables. Plans 1746-4, 1746-6, 1768-1 and N.D. 27 show three adjoining buildings with the same north-south dimensions. Plans 1746-2, 1746-3 and 747-1 show a common Lot D and E building and a separate Lot F structure. Plan 1767-1 shows three adjoining buildings but incorporates the buildings in Lots E and F into one long, narrow structure. It is not known which of the plans represent the changes made. Plans 1767-1 and 1768-1 are generally more reliable than the English plans, but even they show two different possibilities.
Gibson Clough's highly imaginative sketch of the "Genreal's House," or what seems to be the former commissaire-ordonnateur's property in Block 2, possibly includes Lot E. The Lot E building may appear in the upper right-hand corner of the drawing - a two-storey structure with two windows on the ground floor and first storey of the north wall and two end chimneys on a hip roof. It is also conceivable that the stable at the rear of the general's yard includes Lot E and is a representation of one of the possible complexes on the plans mentioned above.
[PAGE 103:] OUTBUILDINGS AND YARD:
When Lot E was first occupied, a garden extended from the house in the interior of the yard to the Rue Royalle. (See Plan 1720-2). The construction of the house on the Rue Royalle in 1723 reduced the size of the yard. Detcheverry continued to own most of the lot, for Dugas was given only the land on which the house was standing and a small area to store his firewood [NOTE 47].
In 1726 the Lot E yard consisted of three sections. The land directly behind the duplex was divided into halves which corresponded to the division of the house. In November, Dugas' yard behind the west half of the house was increased to 22 1/2 pieds (E. by W.) by 12 pieds (N. by S.). The east half of the house rented to Latapy in October had a garden which ran 22 pieds (E. by W.) and about 15 or 16 pieds (N. by S.). The remainder of the yard apparently constituted the courtyard on the north side of the first house which was rented to Verdon in May [NOTE 48].
The rental agreements in 1726 provided for the possible construction of two magasins. Detcheverry apparently was planning to build one, for in renting the north end of Lot E to Verdon he stipulated that he could build a magasin in the yard which adjoined the first house without compensating Verdon. The rental agreement for the east half of the duplex gave Latapy the option to build a picket magasin with a plank roof, which Detcheverry would purchase at the end of the rental period at a price determined by experts [NOTE 49]. It seems that neither magasin was constructed for they do not appear on the plans. (See 1727-9, 1730-2, 1731-3-(1) and N.D. 24). It is conceivable that the addition seen on the east end of the north wall of the building on Plans 1730-2 and N.D. 24 was Latapy's magasin.
After the first house in the interior of Lot E was no longer in existence, the Lot E yard was divided into a garden at the north end of the property and a courtyard between the garden and the house. (See Plans 1730-2, 1731-3-(1) and 1734-4). A picket fence appears around the perimeter of the yard and between the courtyard and garden on 1731-3-(1).
There was a magasin in Lot E by 1733. Plans 1734-4 and N.D. 89 situate a building with a hip roof in the northwest corner of the courtyard adjacent to the garden. In 1733 the magasin contained a barrel of wine from Nantes [PAGE 104:] (estimated at 30 livres), a barrel of Rome (?) (60 livres), an anchor and a hook which was "out of service" (20 livres), an adze, two chisels, and a hand saw (6 livres), a horse with a saddle and bridle (100 livres), a cart with the harness (20 livres) and three cows (150 livres) [NOTE 50]. It is not known how long the magasin stood; Plan 1734-4 is the last town plan before 1745 and the last to show the building.
When the duplex was built, it filled the boundary of Lot E on the Rue Royalle. The passage in the east half of the house was designed to allow direct access from the street to the yard. It seems, however, that Detcheverry was trespassing on Lot F, for in 1726 he stated that the public could use the passage only if a building were erected next to the house, and a passageway "qui Est apresent Sur le derriere du jardin pour aler ala forge" was blocked. By the time of Vallées etat in 1734, 6 pieds had been added to the boundary on the Rue Royalle. A section of picket fence with an opening is shown between the buildings in Lots E and F on Plan 1739-5. If the passage in the house had been blocked by the time of the inventory in 1733, an opening larger than that shown in the picket fence on 1739-5 would have been required for the horse and cart [NOTE 51].
I. [NOTE 1:] A.F.O., G1, Vol. 466, pièce 83, f.5, Concessions, 1720-1723.
[NOTE 2:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 183, ff. 29-29v., Memoire Du Travail que Je fait pour Monsieur Chevalier perré an 1719 Et an 1720, 10 novembre 1720.
[NOTE 3:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f.26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville delouisbourg sous lebon plaisir du Roy par messieurs les gouverneur et commissaire ordonnateur delisle Royalle jusqu'au 15.8bre.1734 et autres dont Sa Majesté a disposé par Son memoire du 31. may. 1723, 24 octobre 1734: A.C. B, Vol. 63, f. 567v., Arret du C.cil qui confirme les concessions faites dans la Ville de Louisbourg jusqu'au 15.8bre.1734, 5 avril 1735.
[NOTE 4:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1724, No. 3), [untitled] Convention entre Joseph Dugas et Dominique Detcheverry, 5 octobre 1722.
[NOTE 5:] A.C., C11A, Vol. 126, pièce 111, p. 237, Estat des Emplacements concédés a Louisbourg dans l'Enceinte de la Place relatif au plan de 1723, 1723; A.F.O., G2, Vol. 190, No. 3, ff. 64-66, Ordonnance du Roi, 31 mai 1723.
[NOTE 6:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1724, No. 2, 4), [untitled] Concession à Dominique Detcheverry, 8 juin 1724.
[NOTE 7:] Ibid, (1726, No. 43), npp. 1-4, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge Passé par dominique Detcheverry au S. Jacques Verdon, 19 mai 1726; ibid, (No. 44), Memoire de ce que jay Laisse [d outly] de La forge entre Le Main de jaque verdonn forcheron, 2 novembre 1726.
[NOTE 8:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 43), npp. 1-4, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge .... 19 mai 1726; A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 655, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier de Cette Ville decedé le 4e, 7bre. 1733, 19-22 septembre 1733. ,
[NOTE 9:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 43), np. 1, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge ..., 19 mai 1726.
[NOTE 10:] Ibid, (1724, No. 3), [untitled] Convention entre Joseph Dugas et Dominique Detcheverry, 5 octobre 1722.
[NOTE 11:] A.C., C11A, Vol. 126, pièce 111, p. 239, Estat des Emplacements concédés a Louisbourg ..., 1723.
[NOTE 12:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058, (1726, No. 40), npp. 1-4, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726.
[NOTE 13:] Ibid, (No. 54), npp. 1-4, Conventions pour 1/2 d une Maison Entre LeS. Dominiq. detcheverry & Sr. JoseDh Dugas, 6 novembre 1726.
[NOTE 14:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 655, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier de Cette Ville decedé le 4e, 7bre. 1733, 19-22 septembre 1733; A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 43), np. 2, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge ..., 19 mai 1726.
[NOTE 15:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 633, [untitled] Procès-verbal de la nomination des tuteur et subrogé tuteur pour les enfants Dugas, 18 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 16:] Ibid, pp. 638-39.
[NOTE 17:] A.F.O., Gl, Vol. 406, Registre IV: Louisbourg 1728-1738, f. 29v., Parish Records, 13 août 1731.
[NOTE 18:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, pp. 650-52, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier de Cette Ville ..., 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 19:] Ibid, p. 649; ibid, Vol. 182 suite, p. 71, Inventaire aprés le deces de dame anne Levron a la Requete du S. Pierre Benoit Enseigne des Compagnies de La Marine Son mari fait par le Commissaire ordonnateur a Lisle Royale 1733, 19 décembre 1733; A.F.O., G3, Carton 2047 suite, (No. 58), np. 2, [untitled] Transaction fait concernant la succession d'Anne Levron, Fait entre Marianne Benoist et Pierre Benoist, 9 août 1752.
[NOTE 20:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, pp. 64lb-47, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier de Cette Ville ..., 19-22 septembre, 1733.
[NOTE 21:] Ibid, pp. 64lb-42.
[NOTE 22:] Ibid, pp. 642-43.
[NOTE 23:] Ibid, p. 643.
[NOTE 24:] Ibid, pp. 644-45.
[NOTE 25:] Ibid, pp. 646-47.
[NOTE 26:] Ibid, p. 646.
[NOTE 27:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182 suite, p. 1008, Inventaire apres le deced de dame anne Levron ... 19 décembre 1733, A.F.O., G3, Carton 2038 suite (No. 53), np. 5, [untitled] Contract de vente: Antoine Sabatier à Andres Carrerot, 23 décember 1733; A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville delouisbourg ..., 24 octobre 1734; A.F.O., G2, Vol. 196, No. 87, pièce 10, Procédure poursuivant la vente par décret de la terre et fief située a Miré, appartenant au défunt Sr. de la Catalogne, 16 mai 1735.
[NOTE 28:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville delouisbourg ... 24 octobre 1734.
[NOTE 29:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 190, No. 3, ff. 64-66, Ordonnance du Roi, 31 mai 1723; A.C. B, Vol. 63, ff.567v., 578, Arret du C.cil qui confirme les concessions faites dans la Ville de Louisbourg ..., 5 avril 1735; ibid, ff. 535-35v., Maurepas à M. de St. Ovide et le Nommant, 25 avril 1735.
[NOTE 30:] A.C., C11B, Vol. 19, ff. 258-60v., veuve Rodrigue à Maurepas, 2 janvier 1737; ibid, ff. 254-56, Lartigue à Maurepas, 1 février 1737.
[NOTE 31:] A.C. B, Vol. 65, ff. 445v.-46, Maurepas à M. de Brouillan et Le Nommant, 16 avril 1737.
[NOTE 32:] A.F.O., G1, Vol. 406, Registre IV: Louisbourg 1728-1738, f. 60, Parish Records, 16 janvier 1736; ibid, f. 70.
[NOTE 33:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 211, dossier 528D, pièces 1-5, "Differents actes de tutelles des enfants mineurs des habitans decedés de la colonie de L'Isle Royalle, 1749 et 1750," 10 octobre 1749.
[NOTE 34:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2041 (No. 19), np. 1, [untitled] Bail à loyer: Marguerite Brunet veuve Pugnan à Jean Claparede, 23 juillet 1749.
[NOTE 35:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 211, dossier 528D, pièce 3, np. 1, 10 octobre 1749.
[NOTE 36:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2047 (No. 86), np. 1, [untitled] Bail à loyer: Francois Lessenne à veuve Fautoux, 28 octobre 1749.
[NOTE 37:] C.O. 217, Vol. 25, f. 141, The State of the Town of Louisbourg on the 10th of August 1768, 26 September 1768.
[NOTE 38:] Ibid, ff. 141-41v.
[NOTE 39:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1724, No. 3), [untitled] Convention entre Joseph Dugas et Dominique Detcheverry, 5 octobre 1722; ibid, (1726, No. 54), np. 1, Conventions pour 1/2 d une Maison Entre LeS. Dominiq ..., 6 novembre 1726; A. F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 650, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas ..., 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 40:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 40), np. 1, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726.
[NOTE 41:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, pp. 641b.-45, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas ..., 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 42:] Ibid, p. 646.
[NOTE 43:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 54), npp. 1-4, Conventions pour 1/2 d une Maison Entre LeS. Dominiq ..., 6 novembre 1726; A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville delouisbourg, 24 octobre 1734.
[NOTE 44:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 40), np. 4, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726; A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 646, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier ..., 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 45:] A.F.O, G3, Carton 2058 (1724, No. 3), [untitled] Convention entre Joseph Dugas et Dominique Detcheverry, 5 octobre 1722; A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, pp. 641b, 644, 646, 650, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier ... 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 46:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 54), npp. 1-4, Conventions pour 1/2 d une Maison Entre LeS. Dominiq ..., 6 novembre 1726.
[NOTE 47:] Ibid, (1724, No. 3), [untitled] Convention entre Joseph Dugas et Dominique Detcheverry, 5 octobre 1722.
[NOTE 48:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 43), np. 1, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge ..., 19 mai 1726; ibid, (No. 40), npp. 1-2, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726; ibid, (No. 54), npp. 2-3, Conventions pour 1/2 d une Maison Entre LeS. Dominiq ..., 6 novembre 1726.
[NOTE 49:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 43), npp. 1 2, bail a Louage d'une Maison avec outils de forge ..., 19 mai 1726; ibid, (No. 40), npp. 3-4, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726.
[NOTE 50:] A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, pp. 648-49, Inventaire fait apres Le dededs de Joseph Dugas Charpentier ... 19-22 septembre 1733.
[NOTE 51:] A.F.O., G3, Carton 2058 (1726, No. 40), npp. 1-3, bail a Loyer dune Maison Passé par dominique Detcheverry A Thimothe Latapy, 31 octobre 1726; A.C., C11B, Vol. 5, f. 26v., Etat des terrains concédé dans la ville delouisbourg ..., 24 octobre 1734. A.F.O., G2, Vol. 182, p. 649, Inventaire fait apres Le deceds de Joseph Dugas Charpentier, 19-22 décembre 1733.