Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
THE CONSTRUCTION AND OCCUPATION OF THE BARRACKS OF THE KING'S BASTION
(Fortress of Louisbourg
Report H A 13)
CHRONOLOGY OF CONSTRUCTION
1745 - 1748
During the siege in 1745 the roof of the barracks suffered considerable damage and the chapel was eventually abandoned. The bell in the tower suffered a direct hit, but the clock was undamaged. William Pepperell, the New England commander, reported in 1747 that the barracks in general were ..."much out of repair, tho' that at the Citadel is otherwise a very good and strong Building of Brick and Stone.''(1)
Reports by Hobson in 1749 indicated that a new roof had been built and shingled with the exception of the governor's wing which retained its slate, and that a whole new set of windows including arches, jambs and sills had been put in as well as quoins and pilasters. The inside roof of the chapel was repaired and two galleries were added, presumably on either side of the altar. The whole of this room was filled "with proper Seats and Pews".(2) The governor's wing was repaired and some chimneys added.(3) These chimneys may have been those which had been blocked out by De Forant in the attic and were now being restored to use. There is no evidence that any major alterations were made in the barracks, however, and none is mentioned in the French documents during the re-occupation.
1. Colonial Office Records, A28, Nova Scotia pp. 2, 5-6; Wm. Pepperrell, 29 January 1747.
2. Colonial Office Records, A34, Nova Scotia, p. 158-59; Hopson, 12 July 1749.
3. Supplementary Report on the Chateau, 1964 by John Forties unpublished in Louisbourg Archives.