Bigotyard Website Design and Content December 14, 2001, by Eric Krause, Krause House Info-Research Solutions ( 1996)
      All Images Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise

Researching the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
  Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada

Fortress of Louisbourg, Block Two,
Lots F/G/H Properties:
Landscape Arrangements as of 1744

Bigot House and Storehouse with its attached garden  Parks Canada

REPORTS

BACK


Chronological Index ~ Annotated Extracts from Historical and Archaeological Reports of the Fortress of Louisbourg, 1959 - Present

Note: [...] represent Krause Annotations

AVAILABLE BLOCK 2 
CHECK LISTS

[By Brenda Dunn, Not Dated]

NOTE

The features at Louisbourg were reconstructed to the period 1744 - 1745. To rank the credibility of the evidence described in a Block Report, the following criteria was used:

CREDIBILITY: "A" - Very high reliability of information - the most relevant documents support the conclusion: "B" Some major documents do not support the conclusions, but the weight is still clearly for the conclusion: "C" The evidence seems to be relatively equal "for" and "against" the conclusion, but internal factors (within the documents) and such things as experience of the researcher tend to weigh in the direction of the conclusion: "D" Much conflicting evidence with no preponderance in any direction, based mostly on an experience with the type of problem (generally), or, no primary evidence but based on experience and secondary sources, etcetera.

-----------------------------

LOT E

(1) DATE OF BUILDING: Constructed by 1723. In 1768 still standing but "much out of repair" and shown as part of Lot F (Bigot) stables [BASIS: H D 17 - Plans 1723-1, 1768-1, C.O. 217, Vol. 25, Folio 141 ("A" incredibility)]

(2) OWNERS: 1. Dominique Detcheverry (blacksmith) and Joseph Dugas (carpenter) 1723-1728. 2. Joseph Dugas 1728-1733 3. Dugas heirs: Marguerite Dugas, his widow, and his children (1733, 1749). [BASIS: H D 17, Dunn, Block 2, pages 107-119 ("A" credibility)]

(3) FUNCTION: 1. Dual residence 1723-1728 2. Single residence 1728, 1733, probably in 1745 3. Stables, possibly converted by New Englanders (1745-49), 1768. [BASIS: H D 17 - Ibid ("A" credibility)]

(4) BUILDING SIZE: 45 pieds along the Rue Royalle by 24 pieds [BASIS: Not given ("A" credibility)] ...

...

(16) GARDEN: Garden shown along the north boundary of the property [BASIS: H D 17 - Plans 1730-2, 1731-3 and 1734-4 ("A" credibility)]

(17) FENCING: Property enclosed by a picket fence. Plan 1731-3 also shows a picket fence between courtyard and garden while 1739-5 shows a small section of fence between buildings in Lots E and F. An opening on to the Rue Royalle appears in the latter fence. It would have been necessary for this to have been large enough to accommodate Dugas' horse and cart. [BASIS: H D 17 - Plans 1731-3, 1739-5; 19-22 Septembre 1733, op.cit. Page 649 ("A" credibility)]

(18) OUTBUILDINGS: Magasin built by 1733. (See Block 2 report) [BASIS: H D 17 - Dunn, Block 2, Page 117 ("A" credibility)]

(19) GARDEN WALLS: See (f) above. [BASIS: Not given]

(20) PASSAGEWAY: Entrance to Lot E yard from Rue Royalle through fence opening, between buildings in Lots E and F. [BASIS: H D 17 - Plan 1739-5 ("A" credibility)]

-----------------------------

LOT F

(1) DATE OF BUILDING: 1739-1768 [BASIS: H D 17 -Dunn, Block 2, Page 121, Dunn, Block 2, Property of the Commissaire Ordonnateur, Pages 43-45 9 ("A" credibility)]

(2) OWNER: [BASIS: not given]

(3) FUNCTION: Stables serving the Commissaire Ordonnateur's residence in Lot G. Contained sheep, poultry and "other things necessary for nourishment" in 1739. [BASIS: H D 17 - 19 dec. 1739, C11B, Vol. 21, folio 268]

...

(5a) CONSTRUCTION DETAILS: Plans indicate the stables built in two phases. First phase building was in southwest corner of Lot F. In its second phase, the building extended along to fill the south boundary of the lot. Both phases completed by 1745. [BASIS: H D 17 - Plans 1739-5, 1741-2, 1744-5 and 1745-11 ("B" credibility)].

(5b) CONSTRUCTION DETAILS: The first phase building appears on Plan 1739-5 as charpente with location of posts detailed. Completed building was wooden. [BASIS: H D 17 - Plans 1739-5, 1767-1 and 1768-1 ("A" credibility)]

...

-----------------------------

LOT I

(1) DATE OF BUILDING: 1738-1768 plus/minus. [BASIS: H D 17 ("A" credibility)]

(2) OWNER: Owned by Nicolas Pugnant dit Destouches, baker until his death in 1740. In 1745 owned by his widow (Marie Brunet) and their children. [BASIS: H D 17 ("A" credibility)]

(3) FUNCTION OF BUILDING: Residence. Possibly used for baking bread. [BASIS: H D 17 ("A" credibility)]

(4) BUILDING SIZE: Scaled, 24 pieds, running east-west along the Quay by 26 pieds, running north-south into the block. [BASIS: H D 17 - Plan 1739-5 ("B" credibility)]

...

(32) FENCING: Picket fences are shown in the yard of the Lot I house on Plan 1739-5. The east and south perimeters of the yard are lined with pickets while an east-west fence with an opening seems to divide the yard into two sections. [BASIS: H-D 17 - Plan 1739-5 ("B" credibility)]

(33) PALISADE: A palisade to be built in 1750 on the west side of the property. [BASIS: H-D 17 - 1750 rental agreement ("A" credibility)]

(34) LATRINES: Latrines to be built in 1750. [BASIS: H-D 17 - 1750 rental agreement ("A" credibility)]

(35a) OUTBUILDING: Magasin to be built in 1750. To be a frame building with a plank roof, 30 pieds by 20 pieds, and was to contain a storage bin for bread. [BASIS: H-D 17 - 1750 rental agreement ("A" credibility)]

(35b) OUTBUILDING: Small poultry shed to be built in 1750. [BASIS: H-D 17 - 1750 rental agreement ("A" credibility)].