Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
CULTURAL LANDSCAPE OF 18TH CENTURY LOUISBOURG
Microfiche Report Series 83, By Margaret Fortier, 1983, Fortress of Louisbourg
Part Two - The Outports
Miré Region - Properties
Gideon Catalogne - Joseph Dugas - (Michel Delort & Guillaume Delort) - Jacques Prévost - (Etienne La Roque & Henrie Joseph Baillon & Antoine Joseph Monet)
south of barachois de Miré
DATE OF CONCESSION:
DATE OF OCCUPATION:
SIZE OF PROPERTY:
1 square lieue
BORDERS OF PROPERTY:
north - barachois and baie de Miré
south - unconceded east -
André Carrerot, Capt. De Couagne and land not conceded
west - Capt. Ste. Marie
CHANGES OF OWNERSHIP:
1729 - Catalogne conceded 8 arpents of his property to Joseph Dugas. No formal concession could be registered before Catalogne fell ill and died on that year. Dugas did have a certificate from Catalogne which he asked commissaire-ordonnateur De Mézy to register as proof of his claim.
1737 - After a court fight involving Delort, one of the creditors of the estate, Dugas' claim - now held by his widow - was upheld and the remainder of the property was purchased by Delort for 590 livres.
1753 - What happened to veuve Dugas' 8 arpents is not clear. In 1753 Michel and Guillaume Delort transferred what appears to have been all the land to Jacques Prévost. At the time of the transfer all three sides of the property were said to be bounded by unconceded land.
1755 - Prévost sold the land to La Roque, Baillon and Monet for 1,200 livres.
DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY:
1726-37 - included a farm on the barachois and a limestone quarry in the northeast corner.