Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except
Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada
Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
of British Archives - Manuscript Sources
from the Report]
H H 18
Fortress of Louisbourg
Fortress of Louisbourg
The following is an extraction of interesting comments from the Survey
[To ascertain which repository yielded Louisbourg material for the Fortress
of Louisbourg Collection, please check the following
following names, objects and places should be kept in mind as research is
Lieut. John Mann's report on the fortification
Louisbourg colours which once hung in St. Paul's Cathedral
Pepperrell's silver service which had been presented by the City of London
places of detention of French prisoners from Louisbourg, Ile Royale and
Ile St. Jean
5. Maps and
Accounts of English engineers charged with building new structures and
effecting repairs at Louisbourg.
7. Sir James
Colebrooke and Arnold Nesbitt were two English/Irish contractors for
supplying Louisbourg from 1758 inwards .... Their ships sailed from Cork.
Their contract was awarded in November of 1758. Josua Mauger was a
contractor at Halifax, Chas. Apthorpe and Thomas Hancock at Boston and New
York and ... Calcraft was regimental agent for the Louisbourg garrison at
8. In 1745
French prisoners from Ile Royale were kept at Plymouth (including Don
Ulloa the Spaniard who was later governor of New Orleans) and in various
villages. One of these villages was a place called Fareham.
Library of Political and Economic Science
London School of Economics
Houghton Street, London W.C.2
Letters of Emigrants to America. 1745-1911
Maritime Museum, Greenich
There are two
Mss. maps of Louisbourg in very poor condition. They were given by the
Marquess of Exeter in 1952 and seem to be incomplete drafts of the
a. Burning of
the PRUDENT and the cutting-out of the BIENIFAISANT coloured.
b. Flan des
Hafens und FESTUNG Louisbourg auf den Insul Cap Breton (Raspe: Nurnberg)
c. A Plan of
the City and Fortifications of Louisbourg from a Survey made by H. Gridley
in 1745 (published by Jeffreys: 20 April 1757)
(published by Jeffreys, 9 Oct-1758)
e. DeLeth map
of Louisbourg: 22 1/4 x 18 1/2 inches. There is an inset 5 3/4 x 7 inches
of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Coloured map, the title in both French and
view of Louisbourg taken from the Lighthouse in 1758". Engraved by
Carnot after Ince's drawing but published by Carrington Bowles.) This
seems to be a later version of the Sabin one; it is smaller.
"A Journal containing the Manner, Method and Execution of the
Demolition of the Fortifications of Louisbourg" kept by the
directions of D. Muckell, commandant of the Company of Royal, Miners
and carried out by John Gowan, Lieutenant of the Miners. (This is an
original mss. 193pp. in length, in its original binding).
Mss.) Letter from Williamson to Capt. McBean, Downs, 27 Feb. 1757 en
route to North America.
to MacBean, Spithead, 12 March 1757, en route to North America
to MacBean, Halifax Camp, 14 July 1757, preparations for the
expedition to Louisbourg.
Samuel Strachey to MacBean, Gabarous Bay, 4 June 1758, preparing to
lay siege to Louisbourg.
Forbes MacBean to Williamson, 12 Aug. 1758
to MacBean, 11 Dec. 1758 with distribution of artillery in North
America as of that date.
- MacBean to
Williamson, 10 Feb. 1759; reference to Louisbourg
to MacBean, from Louisbourg Harbour, 20 May 1759
Description of Nova Scotia to 1746" anon., undated, with
"Major Marr" written in pencil on the inside cover. This is
written in several hands and appears not later than 1748. There are
several references to Louisbourg.
of Ordnance Stores for Halifax in Nova Scotia, 1758".
authentic account of the Reduction of Louisbourg in June and July
1758" by a Spectator (London, 1758) printed by W. Owen. 60 pp.
of Board of Ordnance papers for Ireland.
- MR 1:
References to the victory salute fired on the
- MR 14:
Taking of Louisbourg. The others have not been searched.
Mss. problems of estimates in fortifications for the use of the Royal
Military Academy at Woolwich, by I. Landmann 1785 [2 vols.]
of stores for Halifax in 1758
Col. M. E.
S. Law's article on the artillery at Louisbourg, published in 1952 in
the Royal Artillery Journal.
Woolwich Arsenal, Royal Artillery Library
Louisbourg Restoration library possesses a copy: --
No. 10. A journal of the manner, method and execution of the
demolition of the fortifications of Louisbourg from June 1st to
November 10th, 1760 ... which is in the possession (the original) of
this institution. ...
United Services Institution
(a.) Maps and
- A27/4 A
Plan of the Island of Cape Breton. (mss.)
- A27/5 A
Plan of the Island of Cape Breton reduced from the large Survey made
according to the Orders and Instructions of the Right Honourable the
Lords Commissioners for Trade and Plantations...by Samuel Holland,
Esq. (coloured mss.)
- A27/6 A
Plan of Part of the East Coast of the Island of Cape Breton [from St.
George's Channel to Wheelock Point] (coloured mss.)
French mss. map of Louisbourg harbour and Gabarous Bay, with numerous
observations in French, with 2 further sketches and notes. [The P.A.C.
has recently photographed this]
- A28/2 Plan
of Louisbourg with the movements of the French Troops [This map is
- A28/5 Plan
of the Town and Fortress of Louisbourg on the Island of Cape Breton,
surrendered on the 16th June, 1745 after a siege of 42 days to the
Hon. Peter Warren, esq. ..., Taken and drawn by Bastide [This map has
been already photographed for the Louisbourg project: MAC Item No.
- A28/6 Plan
and Profile of the Mines for Demolition of the Fortifications of
Louisbourg completed the 8th of November, 1760 (signed by Francois de
Revyne, director of Mines in North America) [This map has already been
photographed for the Louisbourg project: MAC Item No. 229.]
- A28/72 A
Plan and Survey of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg, by Durell and
Bastide, drawn by John Barker Delin, 1748 [partly coloured mss.) [This
map has recently been photographed by the P.A.C.]
Superficial Sketch of an Advantagious Fortification for Louisbourg, by
F. A. Strasburgher [This map has already been photographed for the
Louisbourg project: MAC Item No. 230.]
- A28/74 Plan
of the Harbour and Fortifications of Louisbourg by Bastide (coloured
mss.) marked B.16. f58 (64) [This appears to be the very map referred
to in W-0-55/2281, which consists of a list of Board of Ordnance maps,
in the 8th Division no. 64.3 [The P.A.C. has recently photographed
- A28/75 A
Plan of the Harbour and Fortifications of Louisbourg by Durell and
Bastide (coloured mss.) [Some similarity between this map and A28/72]
[The P.A.C. has recently photographed this map.]
- A28/76 Plan
et elevation de la batterie Royale, dans le port de Louisbourg, en
l'Isle Royale [This map has already been photographed for the
Louisbourg project: MAC Item No. 231]
- A28/77 A
Plan of the City and Fortress of Louisbourg [This map has already been
photographed for the Louisbourg project: MAC Item No. 232.]
- NM 90
Letters and Instructions of Admiral Francis Holburne, 1755-1757 [Most
of this volume refers to orders received in connection with the 1757
expedition to Cape Breton.]
- NM 91
Letters and Instructions of Admiral Holburne, 1758-1764 [Concerned
largely with Holburne as C-in-C, Portsmouth Naval Station, This
includes a letter to him from Boscawen written from Louisbourg, 12
- NM 105b
Admiral Holburne's letter book as Commander in Chief of Portsmouth
Naval Station, 1759-1764 [Concerned in part with the preparations for
the Quebec expedition, 1759]
- NM 105c
Admiral Holburne's letter book as commander in chief of Portsmouth
Naval Station, 1759-1761 [Concerned in part with the preparations for
the Quebec expedition, 1759.]
- NM 109b (2)
Account of the ships of the enemy purchased and made part of the Royal
- MM 22 (13)
pp. 36-41, Anecdotes of the siege of Louisbourg 1758, by unknown
- MM 32
Anecdotes of the First (or the Royal) Regiment of Foot, with reference
in 1758 to the siege of Louisbourg.
- MM 92
"Observations au siege d'une ville [an 18th century unsigned
- M 129 (4)
Report of the Particulars relating to the fortifications of Halifax by
Pat. MacKellar, 29 May 1761, with a mention of the lime quarries in
- MM 131
Journal of Lieutenant D. A. Gordon, 40th Regiment, during the siege of
Louisbourg, 1758, 106pp [This item has already been photographed by
the Louisbourg project.]
- MM 142 (11)
Journal of Lieut. John Marr, with a plan and maps of his journey from
Halifax to Lunenburg in July 1763, in search of lime for the
fortifications at Halifax; together with an illustration and
explanation of his plan of "a Rubber for Polishing Building
Stones", 18 Aug. 1763.
- MM 413 (1)
Papers of John, Duke of Montague, Master General of Ordnance to 1749
[Amongst these several hundred papers, only one item of interest to
the project was found: a letter from James Straton on behalf of his
son at Cape Breton, to Lord Granby (?), Greenwich, 29 Dec. 1746.]
- MM 430
Papers relating to the surrender and recapture of Newfoundland, June
to September 1762.