Search Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause, Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
      All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada  --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions

Researching the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
  Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada




JUNE, 1971

(Fortress of Louisbourg
Report H D 16)


[PAGE 27]

In 1768, the buildings that remained in Block 3 were occupied by Mr. Dion and Mr. Keho. Both these names appear in lists of residents of Louisbourg in 1772 [NOTE 1] and 1774 [NOTE 2].

In 1772 Thomas Keho, his wife and children, a cow and 2 pigs were listed. In 1774, Thomas Keho was said to be occupying 1 house and 1 storehouse, but no indication of location is given.

A Francis Deyoung, his wife, 6 children, and a cow were listed in 1772. In 1774, a Baptist Deyoung "French" occupied 1 house, and had 9 children. It is likely that these two Deyoungs are the same person, and that they are in fact, Jean-Baptiste Guyon or one of his sons.

The plans of the post occupation period are very sketchy as far as buildings within the town are concerned. However, there is a distinct possibility that there were 19th century buildings in the area of Block 3. (see plans 1857-1, 1864-1, 1897-1 and 1916-1). Plans 1857-1 and 1861-1 indicate that the Block 3 area belonged to Dennis Kennedy, or to Dennis Kennedy and others. The two houses in the vicinity of Block 3 on plan 1864-1 belong to J. Kelly and W. Power.

[PAGE 28:]

A large tract of land, including Block 3, was acquired by the Cape Breton Railway Company in 1902 [NOTE 3]. When the fortress area was surveyed in 1922, this land belonged to the Dominion Government [NOTE 4], and there were no buildings in the Block 3 area. (see plan 1922-1.)


[PAGE viii:]


[NOTE 1:] Wayne Foster, The Post Occupational History of the Old French Town of Louisbourg 1760-1930, unpublished report in the Archives of the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Park, pp. 29-32.

[NOTE 2:] ibid., p. 33.

[NOTE 3:] ibid., p. 139.

[NOTE 4:] ibid., p. 168.

Return to the First Page

Retour à la page première

Return to the Previous Page

Retour à la page précédente