Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
REPORT ON LOTS A AND B
OF BLOCK 3
(Fortress of Louisbourg
Report H D 16)
This report concerns only lots A and B of Block 3, that is the northeast portion of the block. The area south of lots A and B was conceded to the Recollets for their convent and garden, and the western end of the block was reserved for the parish church and a place publique, sometimes referred to as the place de l'église.
Block 3 is bounded by the Quai, the Rue Royalle, the Rue St. Louis and the Rue de 1'étang. The Rue du Cloître runs east and west dividing lots A and B from the Recollet concession. (see plans 1718-2, 1723-2, 1731-3, 1734-3). The first section of this report deals with the early history of Block 3, before it was divided into lots. Lots A and B, conceded in 1723 to Jean Lagrange and François Cressonet dit Beauséjour respectively, are considered separately for the period 1723-1768 in parts two and three. The two lots are then considered together for the post-occupation period. The research for this report was greatly facilitated by the index system prepared for the town blocks by Henri-Paul Thibault and Brenda Dunn. Only the references noted in this file were researched.