Website Design and Content © by Eric Krause,
Krause House Info-Research Solutions (© 1996)
All Images © Parks Canada Except Where Noted Otherwise
Report/Rapport © Parks Canada / Parcs Canada --- Report Assembly/Rapport de l'assemblée © Krause House Info-Research Solutions
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada
Recherche sur la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg Lieu historique national du Canada
Extracts of Matters of Historical Interest from "The Huissier, News For and About the Fortress of Louisbourg Heritage Presentation Staff" By The Fortress of Louisbourg Heritage Presentation Staff
(June 30, 2004)
Madame Beauséjour, Marguerite Dugas
Anne Marie Lane Jonah
The daughter of Martin Dugas and Marguerite Petitpas, she was born approximately 1680 in Acadia. Her parents had lived in Port Royal and Grand Pré but it is not clear where they lived when she was born. She had only one brother, Martin, who died in Port Royal in 1720. Around 1697 she married Joseph Guyon, a merchant captain from Canada. Guyon and his brother François were corsairs or privateers active out of Port Royal in the 1690s. The Acadians of Port Royal were not entirely supportive of the privateers as they brought more English hostility to Acadia.
Marguerite Dugas probably went to Québec initially with Guyon, then they lived in Placentia. His 1715 inventory mentions a house in Québec and another at St Ann, Île Royale. He lived simply but comfortably. His kitchen contained copper and iron pots, pewter dishes and some silver. He had simple but substantial furniture. Marguerite came to Louisbourg from Placentia, a widow with three sons and one daughter ranging in age from 17 to 3 years.
In 1717 she married François Cressonet dit Beauséjour, who took on responsibility for her young children. He more than honoured his responsibilities in his lifetime, establishing her eldest son in a waterfront house when he got married. In 1725 Beauséjour was the godfather of Jean François, a native child whose parents were only named as François and Anna on the baptismal record. Both before and after Cressonet and Dugas married, they were closely linked to the family of Louis LaChaume, a former sergeant at the garrison in Port Royal and a merchant at Louisbourg. He was among the electors for tuteurs or guardians of the Marguerite and Joseph Guyon's children. Marguerite's daughter Marguerite married Pierre LaChaume in 1717 and her son, Jean-Baptiste married Anne LaChaume in 1725. The latter couple had 10 children and was still living in Louisbourg in 1744, on Rue de Quay. Jean Baptiste was a hunter, guide and pilot.
Marguerite Dugas was the first cousin of Joseph Dugas senior of Les Mines, Port Toulouse and Louisbourg. Prior to his death he lived in the house on Rue Royalle. When her cousin died relatives and friends elected François Cressonet to be the subrogé tuteur, deputy guardian, of the Dugas children. He was responsible as such to assist their mother, who was elected tuteur, in representing the children's interest in financial and legal matters. In 1736 Marguerite Richard, Joseph Dugas' widow married Charles de Saint Étienne de la Tour, a grandson of the early Acadian governor, and moved toward the south east corner of town. Her sons retained possession of the house on Rue Royalle, most likely Joseph Junior and his wife, Marguerite LeBlanc from Grand Pré, lived there.
Cressonet dit Beauséjour had been a fishing proprietor and cabaretier earlier in his career at Louisbourg but was described as an innkeeper in later censes. Their business was apparently successful, boasting a billiards table and receiving prosperous clients, such as officers, merchants, and an Acadian seigneur. In the 1740s Marguerite Dugas had an Irish servant named Salle Forlan living with her. After Cressonet's death Madame Beauséjour would have used her maiden name, Marguerite Dugas, and then added "veuve Beauséjour."